Your best bet for expert analysis and betting news

The Derby Festival at Epsom Downs

Betfred Derby
The Betfred Derby will take place at Epsom Downs on June 3. (Photo credit: Epsom Downs).

Historic. Unmatchable. Eternal. This is the birthplace of thoroughbred racing. 243 years, a different champion crowned every time. From the thrill of the hill to the iconic pageantry and sideshows sharing a stage. It’s racing’s most spectacular carnival. Two unmissable days. Friday 2 – Saturday 3 June 2023.

The Derby Festival at Epsom Downs Racecourse is for everyone, from racing royalty to racing rookie. We open our gates, arms and hearts to the world. In a way, everyone rides The Betfred Derby, being part of it, getting carried away and taking the feel good carnival spirit back home.

Watch and wager on the Betfred Oaks and Derby at PlayUp Racebook. New players can earn up to a $250 first deposit bonus!

The Betfred Oaks

Friday 2 June, known as Ladies Day, is a day like no other. It’s best dressed, summer chic, a Derby staple. Dress to impress and soak up spectacular racing, including The Betfred Oaks, one of Britain’s five classic races.

The feature race of day one, the Group 1 Betfred Oaks, is a fillies-only Classic run over the same course and distance as the Coronation Cup and Derby. Alongside the QIPCO 1000 Guineas run at Newmarket and the Ladbrokes St Leger in York, these three races make up the fillies’ Triple Crown.

Date: Friday 2 June 2023

Previous winners: Tuesday (2022), Snowfall (2021), Love (2020), Anapurna (2019), Forever Together (2018), Enable (2017)

The Betfred Derby

Saturday 3 June, it’s Derby Day. Expect nail-biting drama and history in the making. Welcome to the greatest show on turf.

Held on Derby Day, The Betfred Derby is the race that every jockey, trainer and owner wants to win. The race is run over a distance of 1 mile, 4 furlongs and 10 yards over an undulating course climbing the equivalent height of Nelson’s Column. With an incredible prize pot of £1,125 million, this is Britain’s richest and most prestigious race.

Desert Crown ridden by Richard Kingscote won the race in 2022. Desert Crown is trained by Sir Michael Stoute and owned by Mr Saeed Suhail.

Desert Crowns Wins 2022 Derby

Date: Saturday 3 June 2023

Previous winners: Desert Crown (2022), Adayar (2021), Serpentine (2020), Anthony Van Dyck (2019), Masar (2018), Wings Of Eagles (2017)