Your best bet for expert analysis and betting news

Breeders’ Cup Mile Betting Trends

Breeders' Cup Mile
Order of Australia was the upset winner if the 2020 Breeders' Cup Mile. (Photo: /eb305e//Breeders’ Cup/Eclipse Sportswire/CSM

The $2 million Breeders’ Cup Mile (G1) in 2020 produced the biggest upset in the history of the race at Keeneland as Order of Australia won by a neck and paid $148.40.

Trainer Aiden O’Brien saddled three runners in the Mile in 2020 and they completed the trifecta. Circus Maximus (11-1) completed a $2 exacta that paid $2,117.80 and Lope Y Fernandez (18-1) ran third, the $1 trifecta paying $8,786.00.

It was the first Breeders’ Cup Mile victory for trainer Aiden O’Brien, snapping a 0 for 24 run in the race. O’Brien is now 1 for 28 in this race.

The previous biggest upset was Court Vision, who returned $131.60 for trainer Dale Romans at Churchill Downs in 2011.

The favorite took top honors last year. Space Blues won the race for trainer Charlie Appleby and paid $6.20, topping a $2 exacta that paid $58.20.

The betting favorites have won 13 times in then 38 runnings of the Breeders’ Cup Mile.

There have been 11 three-year-olds win the Mile. Among those, nine were Euro invaders including the last five.

10 fillies and mares have beaten the boys in the Mile. Three of those were by Goldikova, who pulled off the hat trick from 2008 through 2010. Eight of the 10 were Euros, the lone exceptions the Mark Casse trained Tepin who won in 2015 at Keeneland and Uni in 2019 for trainer Chad Brown.

Modern Games a Major Player

Looking to wager on the Breeders’ Cup? Join PlayUp Racebook where new players can receive up to a $250 bonus and great Wager Rewards!

We have only seen two wire winners of the race, Lure at Gulfstream Park in 1992 and again in 1993 at Santa Anita.

Goldikova won the Mile three times from 2008 to 2010, and four others have won it twice—Miesque (1987-88), Lure (1992-93), Da Hoss (1996 and 1998) and Wise Dan (2012-13).

The key U.S. preps are the Shadwell Turf Mile (G1) at Keeneland and the Woodbine Mile (G1), each has produced seven winners. The top Euro race is the Jacques Le Marois (G1) at Deauville which has also produced seven winners. Last year’s winner Space Blues won the Qatar Prix de la Foret (G1) in his final prep for the Mile.

There have been three exactas in the Mile pay over $1,000. Court Vision (64-1) and Turallure (11-1) combo paid $1979.80 in 2011. Singletary topped a $2 exacta in 2004 at Lone Star that paid $1,495.60 and all-time topper in 2020 paid $2,117.80. There have been 14 exactas of $225 or higher.

Post positions 11 and 12 have each produced three winners, while the 13 and 14 posts are a combined 2 for 44. Order of Australia broke from the 14-post at Keeneland in 2020. Space Blues broke from the two post last year at Del Mar.

Check out the Trust the Prophets YouTube page and Playbook for the latest Breeders’ Cup betting news.

Breeders Cup Challenge